Get 25% off the Oxford Handbook for Nursing Series - Go to the OUP website now!
Forum Home [JFN Home] Forum Home > Open Nursing Forums > Career Advice
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Referred to NMC, how long before I hear from them?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Referred to NMC, how long before I hear from them?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lindy345 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Referred to NMC, how long before I hear from them?
    Posted: 21 Apr 2018 at 22:25
Been told I have been referred to the NMC - how long before I hear from them?
I have been a registered nurse for well over 30 years with an unblemished record. I recently worked an agency night shift at a nursing home (have done many agency shifts over the years). I have been told that they have referred me to the NMC for drug errors. I believe this relates to allegedly not administering 2 meds from MARS blister packs and failing to have a care assistant witness me giving one dose of controlled medication. Neither the agency nor myself have been advised as to what the allegations are. So far, one month later, I have heard nothing from the NMC. I also work part-time (semi-retired) for the NHS. The agency advised me that I do not need to inform my NHS employer until I hear something from the NMC...is this true? I am semi retired and have been told that I could be retired from the NHS by the time the case is heard by the NMC (if this happens). Financially I need to remain in NHS employment for the next 2 years. For info - I was doing agency shifts as I had hoped to find job working a couple of nights a week in a care home after I retire from the NHS and was doing it to update my experience in care of the elderly. The agency are continuing to give me shifts.
JFN Admin View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group